The Department of Physics of Bharathiar University traces its root as a postgraduate center of University of Madras started in 1974 and became the Department of Physics of Bharathiar University in 1982.  Over the years, the department has become one of the best centers for quality higher learning offered at the level of postgraduate and research programs.

The success of the department over the years has been recognized by the State and Central governments. The government of Tamilnadu has identified this department as the “Center of Excellence” for PG and research programs with a financial support of Rs. 2.5 Croresto create and establish state of the art advanced research laboratory in the department of physics to enhance the existing research potentials on par with international standards.

In addition to this, the department had been supported by the Department of Science and Technology, Government of India under the FIST program to the tune of Rs. 1.5 Crores in Phase-II and Special Assistance Program (SAP) of University Grants commission to the tune of Rs. 70 Lakhs.

The department is also benefitted under the DST-PURSE program offered to the science departments of this university. Apart from thesemajor fundings, each of the faculty members are having individual major research projects from various funding agencies like UGC, CSIR, DST, DRDO, BRNS, BRFST and International agencies etc. 

The faculty members of the department carry out research in many frontier areas, which includes experimental condensed matter physics, theoretical and computational physics. Faculty members and several students of the department have been recognized by national/international institutions in terms of awards/fellowships.

Address :

Department of Physics
Bharathiar university
Coimbatore - 641 046
Tamil Nadu. India.